Plot summary[ edit ] Set mainly in ancient Ireland, the series covers four generations in the family of Sevenwaters, which enjoys a special relationship with the people of the Otherworld. As well as battles between the Irish Celts and the Britons , internal conflicts between neighbouring landholders are integral to the plots. However, all six books carry a strong romance element. All the books are narrated in the first person by young women of the family. They have been turned into swans and can only be returned to their true forms if she creates a shirt for each brother with her own hands - and she must remain completely mute until the task is finished. Living in hiding, Sorcha must avoid discovery, survive off the land, and toil night and day to complete her task without the benefit of any tools of the trade, using only what the forest around her can provide--all while keeping silent and bearing unfathomable loneliness.

Author:Nat Gukinos
Language:English (Spanish)
Published (Last):11 January 2016
PDF File Size:11.80 Mb
ePub File Size:16.7 Mb
Price:Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]

Beschreibung bei Amazon Juliet Marillier is a celebrated fantasy novel author. Her books have time after time received international acclaim as being exceptionally well written.

So good are they that they have persuaded even those who frown upon fantasy novels to give the genre a second chance. Several of her books have been nominated for prestigious literary awards, and some have even won those awards. Here is a brief biography about this accomplished author. Juliet Marillier Juliet was born on the 27th of July, She is currently 68 years old. She was born in Dunedin, New Zealand.

At university level, she earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in the languages and an honorary Bachelors of Music degree, both from the University of Otago. She later went on to teach music at high school and university levels.

Her love for music also led her to become an opera singer and a choral conductor. In addition to her love for music and writing, Juliet also loves animals, and dogs in particular.

She actually keeps a litter of needy and endangered dogs, and will often find the time to play with her canine friends. Her other passions include her fascination with folklore, history and mythology, all of which are very evident in her literary works. Juliet has also once worked as a civil servant in Australia.

She is also a mother of four grown children, and she is blessed with seven grandchildren. She was diagnosed with breast cancer in Juliet Marillier Books Juliet started writing in as a part time activity. From however, she took up writing as a full time job, and she has written over 11 novels in the short span of her writing career.

Her books are generally very well thought out, and this comes as no surprise given the strategic and tactical thinker that she is. She does a very thorough background research before she even begins to outline any book, which explains why her books, though fantasy in their very nature, are very credible even to adult readers.

Another aspect of her books that sets them apart from most other fantasy books is that she is not out to save the whole world. However for her, the salvation comes in the most ordinary and personal of ways.

She is more concerned about saving individuals- or developing characters that can eventually save themselves, rather than the melodrama that is synonymous with fantasy books.

Juliet writes at least one book a year, although getting them published at that rate is somewhat of a challenge, given how thoroughly and painstakingly she does her job. To her, it is commonplace to work on at least three books simultaneously- she could be outlining one, writing another while editing a third. Juliet Marillier Awards Several books by this author have been nominated for awards and some have even gone ahead to win those awards.

In , her book, Wildwood Dancing, won the Aurealis award for the best fantasy novel. The Heir to the Sevenwaters book was also a finalist in the Aurealis Award. The book revolves around the life of Sorcha, the beautiful lastborn child of the Colum of the Sevenwaters. Sorcha is also the only daughter in the family of seven children. Her elder brothers dot on her and love her like the special daughter that she is. She loses her mother, which is terrible, but that only serves to tighten the bond between her and her brothers, who are fiercely protective of her.

All seems to be well for Sorcha until her father marries a second wife who turns out to be a witch. It is then up to Sorcha to free her brothers whom she loves very much and she seeks the counsel of the Lady of the Forest on how to save them.

She finds out that the only way she can save her siblings is by staying silent for a given amount of time. Sorcha obliges willingly, but before her efforts can bear any fruit, she is kidnapped by hostile enemies of the Sevenwaters. The torture that she goes through is simply heartrending. The author narrates an especially harrowing rape scene that is bound to soften even the hardest of hearts.

She is also faced with the dilemma of either saving her brothers, or following her heart and staying with a man she falls in love with. Wildwood Dancing This is another engrossing story that forms part of the Wildwoods trilogy.

The star character in the book is a lovely girl by the name of Jena, who is a second born child in a family of five girls. They all live in the Castle of Piscul Draculi together with their dotting father. Jena loves losing herself in the forest in the strange company of a frog.

The girls also enjoy the moonlight dances with creatures of the Other Kingdom. They access the Other Kingdom every full moon through a portal in the castle that only they know about. Truly, life is good for these young girls. However, their father falls sick and has to travel south in order to recover. She is convinced that Cezar has an underlying sinister motive and is only bidding his time in order to carry out his mission. Through her trials and tribulations, Jena develops admirably into a strong and tough hearted person.

Conclusion Juliet Marillier is without doubt a talented author. She has truly left an indelible mark in the literary world. We recently conducted a poll among visitors and the Memory Man series was voted the 8th most favourite series by all readers.

If you ARE an avid reader of it then great news — a new book is coming out very soon!!! Pre-order now. Please Note The links beside each book title will take you to Amazon, who I feel are the best online retailer for books where you can read more about the book, or purchase it. Please note that as an Amazon Associate, I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Recommendations Every 2 weeks we send out an e-mail with Book Recommendations. Insert your e-mail below to start getting these recommendations. If you see one missing just send me an e-mail below. Then you need to read the Coffeehouse Mysteries. This series by Cleo Coyle has been going strong since and is still publishing highly rated books every year. An excellent series to get you through the cold months. More details. However there is a lot more to Blake than just that series. He has written some of the best sci-fi books there is such as Dark Matter and Recursion.

More Details.


Flame of Sevenwaters



Juliet Marillier


LEY 25589 PDF

Similar authors to follow


Related Articles